Options

Milton? Yes or No?

HotrodHotrod Member Posts: 2
Hi, I'm new here so if I'm doing this wrong I apologise. When I started brewing a few months ago I spent fortunes on sanitising stuff but then realised that good old Milton (tablets or fluid) worked and was safe for baby stuff so why not use it for brewing stuff? 
It worked fine but the local brew shop said it was a No-No (without saying why - perhaps it was 'cos they wanted to sell more pricey stuff!).
Is Milton OK??
I've tried Oxy-Pro but it left a nasty bloom on the bottles that was hard to get off (although I realise I probably mixed it up too strong) and Sodium Metabisulphite but to me Milton seems the simplest solution (excuse pun). What do you think? 

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115

Milton is used by home brewers, although we have also heard it is not the best thing for the job, there is a reason but we can't find where it was explained to pass the reason on to you, hopefully someone else may know. Many people work on the theory if it can sterilise baby stuff then it should be fine for beer, which does make sense, so it may be worth just looking into a little further, perhaps see what the manufacturers say if they have contact info on the container. We must admit we always use VWP, just a teaspoon goes a long way, and have no problems with brews being contaminated, so we know it works and stick with it. You can also get no rinse steriliser for lighter cleaning, but we prefer to be sure and wash with VWP and rinse with clean water.

If you do get an answer from the manufacturers we would love to hear it so we can pass the comments on as a few people ask this....

• Options
    Thanks for the prompt response. I've emailed Milton an will let you know if/when I get a reply. :-?
  • Options
    OK, I got a reply from Milton which appears below - seems it's fine to use this stuff.

Dear Rod 

Thank you for your email regarding Milton, I apologise for the delay in