Options

Keg Pressure

BriBri Member Posts: 7
edited November 2011 in Beer Brewing
Hi there,

I'm new to homebrewing and bought my first starter kit just over a week ago from York.

Primary fermentation was eventful with excessive foam coming through the bubble valve, this was put down to too much heat and eventually calmed down.

I made the decision to keg my first beer and used the one that came with the kit. Secondary fermentation was started without a hitch, temperature was a steady 20 deg for just over 24 hours,, it has now dropped slightly but my problem is the immense pressure building up in the keg. the bottom of the keg has bulged out beyond the little dimples/feet.

I made the choice after reading some similar situations to loosen the cap to release some pressure, i then found the pressure release valve in the cap and so used that to finish the job.

The keg is now holding a lower pressure (until it builds up again) but the bottom is still bulging.

Have i done the right thing in releasing the pressure manually or should i have placed my trust in the pressure release valve to do the job for me before it blew the tap across the kitchen?

Thanks,

Bri.

Comments

• Options
    Forgot to say, secondary fermentation was started 2 days ago (monday night), 6 days after primary fermentation was started.
  • Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115
    Hi Bri,