Options

Cider yeast

Hi There

Just did our first apple pressing on sunday,i am new to this brewing,added the campden tablets on sunday waited 24hrs before adding the yeast(wine yeast W0094 recommended by VIGO).

Added the yeast to some warm juice and added it to the fermitator and fitted airlock.

Checked it this morning nothing is happening,its been in there 17 hours roughly,am i being to keen

Checked vigo's website regarding using the yeast it stated follow instructions on yeast packet,there is nothing on the packet,checked the manufacturers web site,there is nothing on this either,www.ritchieproducts.co.uk.

I am just worried about losing the juice we pressed.

Some advice would be very helpful

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115
    It can really vary on how long before you see it fermenting, often depending on temperature, the strain of yeast, and the sugar content etc. Cider can be a slow fermentation taking a few weeks, and chances are it will get going. If there is no sign of anything after 48 hours or so then there may be an issue, but keep an eye on it and see how it goes. 

One thing to bear in mind with the yeast, the juice you added to it must only be warm and not hot, as the high heat could kill the yeast, but warm would be OK. Check the liquid for small bubbles rising to the surface rather than wait for the airlock to bubble, as the airlock may take some more time to build up full pressure or may not bubble at all with a slow ferment. If you have a hydrometer then taking readings will give the most accurate sign of progress and is the best way to tell how the fermentation is going if not sure - the readings will decrease as it ferments the sugars in the juice 
  • Options
    TOMPUTTTOMPUTT Member Posts: 4

Hi thank you for reply,

The sg was 1040 prior to adding the yeast.

I added the yeast to some warm juice,was not sure how long to leave it so i added the solution after about twenty minutes.