Options

hot fermentation temperature

Rick650Rick650 Member Posts: 3
Hi
I just started brewing and for my second attempt tried a brewferm diablo kit. I left the fermentation bucket on the heater tray (the ambient room temp is around 16 degrees) and went to bed....
This morning I awoke and checked the beer which was around 32 degrees!! The airlock was bubbling like crazy! On the plus side the house had a lovely sweet beery smell throughout!
Two questions: 1) How did the beer reach this temp when the tray is supposed to only raise it 7 degrees above room temp?  it's a small (9litre) kit, would this effect the temp?
2) Is my beer ruined? 
I've read about off flavours being caused by the temperature being too high or the yeast dying in extreme heat. The beer has now cooled to 26 and is still bubbling away.

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115
    The good news is it sounds like you have nothing to worry about, the fact it is still fermenting shows the yeast is still doing it's thing and finishing the brew off, the warmer temperature may speed up the fermentation time though. The heater trays are designed for a 25 litre vessel and will raise the temperature by around 9 degrees above the ambient room temperature, but when the vessels are being used with less liquid, the heater tray wouldn't know this and it could get warmer like this. It is best to regularly monitor the temperature, one useful tip is to use the heater tray in conjunction with a timer so it is on only half or some of the time, some people set them so they are on only at night when it is often cooler.