Options

No pressure in king kegs

NateNate Member Posts: 2
Hi, I have 2 king kegs filled with my first brews. One has been down for 2 weeks and the other 4 weeks. When I turn the tap on either I get nothing. Should I leave for longer or have I done something wrong? I am using Dextrose for the secondary, should I use another kind of sugar? I am quite sure the kegs are sealed tight, lid tight, tap tight etc. I am new to kegs, bottles are hard work . I hope someone can help. Regards.

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115

Hi Nate, as long as you've primed the barrels with sugar, and dextrose is perfectly good, and the barrels are fully airtight which you believe they are then the barrels should pressurise. The temperature will affect how long it will take, ideally a good week in the warm, at around 20 degrees C or a little more, will help the sugars to dissolve and get the secondary fermentation going quickly.

There are a few things to check with the kegs, where air might be escaping, this link covers them;
     http://homebrewonline.vanillaforums.com/discussion/209/barrel-problemsco2-injector-capleaking-tap#latest

One thing you could do to test them is to perhaps inject a CO2 bulb into the barrels through the brass valves in the top which will give them instant pressure, and you should then be able to draw beer through the tap. The pressure should not reduce if left for a few days either. Because the same thing is affecting both barrels it is liekly to be something similar, the three most likely things to check first would be the airtightness, that enough priming sugar was used (depending on the brew 80 to 100g) , and that it is warm enough to get the secondary fermentation going

• Options
    spottydoggy1spottydoggy1 Member Posts: 1