Options

Fermentation Temperature and Bottling advice.

Hello

I’m relatively new to the word of home brew – started last November  so three months in.  So far I have brewed Coopers Original Lager.

My first brew came out fine but the last two I have had problems with.  The second brew I did wasn’t carbonated properly because I let it get too cold for secondary fermentation, so I know what I did wrong there.  However both of my last brews have had a tang that I really don’t like – even though they have been in the bottle for over 6 weeks.  I’m just wondering what can be causing this.  I use PET bottles and I prepare them by soaking them in warm water with VWP Steriliser for about 10 minutes then rinsing them out with cold tap water.  I do not wait for them do dry before bottling although I do get most of the water out and generally there are just a few droplets clinging to the side of the bottles when I bottle.  I just wondered if this can be the source of my problem?   Do I need to have completely dry bottles?

Also I have a question regarding temperature fluctuation during the fermentation period.  Because it has been quite cold whilst I have been doing my first brews I have left the central heating on 24/7 to keep the temperature stable.  However – that could get expensive so I have invested in a 25ltr heater tray.  I am currently doing a Better Brew Lager kit that states that it should be fermented between 20 and 25 degrees C.  So using a timer plug and the heater tray I have been able to keep the temperature in this range.  I have been checking at different intervals during the day and the temperature of the brew has fluctuated between 20.4 and 24.2  I’m just worried that the temperature going up and down like this, although within the 20-25 limit will cause problems.

Thanks for taking the time to read.  

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115
    edited February 2013