Options

can I use fresh fruit to make cider

Hi guys

im new to all this home brew stuff and was looking for a little advice

Im currently brewing my first lot of Youngs brew buddy cider and its seems to be going well and is due for bottling this weekend.

My next venture is to try making a fruit cider I was wondering if it was possible to use fresh stawberries, raspberries, blueberries to make a mixed berry cider, Is it possible to puree the fruit and add it to your brew in place a can of syrup.

Im guessing then it would need to be strained through a cheese cloth after first stage of fermenting is done? and be allowed to settle in a second vesal before bottling?

looking forward to you thoughts on this

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115
    edited January 2013

There are different ways of doing this, it is often best to look around for a recipe which is tried and tested and works so you don't waste your time or fruit, but you can of course experiment and try it your own way of you prefer. If you wanted to use fruit instead of a tin of concentrate/extract, one issue is that you don't know what the sugar content will be which can affect the fermentation and final alcohol content. The yeast ferments on the sugars and produces the alcohol, so with a 1 tin cider kit they specify the additional amount of sugar to add (for example an On The Rocks Mixed Berry needs 1.3kgs of sugar adding). If you use just fruit and no cider base, you will end up with something more like a fruit wine.

One option is to start with a tin of apple or perhaps apple and pear blend (such as Finlandia Cider) and add the sugar it recommends (or a little less), then pulp your fruit nice and finely and add this pulp into the fermenting vessel. The sugars from the fruit and the fruit itself will ferment and add flavour to the cider base, and you can be confident it should ferment OK.