Options

Comparing the (meerkat?) first 2 tries

paulomillerzpaulomillerz Member Posts: 6
edited October 2012 in General Home Brew Chat
Hi everyone, I'm really new to this, I've now done 2 batches of the Coopers lager (The green label) and wanted some advice.

The first batch I brewed quite high temp and quickly and it came it with quite a sour taste. I bottled it after about 4 days because I think I got the readings wrong and obviously impatient lol I got quite a good head on it but the taste was quite strong so I wondered if I probably bottled it too early. Is it normal for a little bit of sediment to be in the bottom of the bottle? I also found a bottle some months later which was a lot less sour. Do you think I was just too keen to taste it and bottled it too soon, then didn't let it sit long enough before drinking it? I love my new hobby as its such a learning curve.

Now with my second attempt I thought I'd go for the same one and get it right before I move on to another. This time I brewed it at a lower temp, usually between 22-24 deg. I know I got the readings right this time as it stayed on the same for a good 36-48 hrs, when I did 3 readings and they all were the same. I have to also disclose an accident after the first day. I'd stupidly put the vessel on a plastic box which I hadn't balanced quite right, so overnight it had managed to tip and lose a small amount (from about 23 ltr to 20-21 ltr from the top). The lid was still over the top although a little open on the one edge. Not wanting to throw it so early I carried on with it nonetheless. The outcome of this one is 2 issues. It is quite flat, even though I put 1 drop in each bottle. It also doesn't taste what I would consider "Nice". Could the flavour improve with time as indicated or could this actually be I lost some of the flavouring and / or yeast when the accident happened hence losing the taste? 

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115
    edited October 2012