Options

Starting fermentation

platosplatos Member Posts: 24
edited November 2012 in General Home Brew Chat
I know it can take up to five days before fermentation can start but I'm a little worried.I am bang on day three and this is my first time of home brewing.I am brewing the NEW...  German Pilsner Gluten Free Beer.

The water in the airlock has risen and the lid has swelled so am I panicking for nothing please.I am using a heater belt and the temp is right.

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115

The kits can often brew slowy so don't worry, the domed lid is a good sign and checking readings with a hydrometer will give you an accurate idea on the progress of the fermentation. Using a heater belt is good to ensure a timely and full ferment, it's just patience now and monitor the brew until the gravity reading is right and all small bubbles have ceased rising from the liquid.

And remember, we're very keen to hear what you think to the new Gluten Free range and would love to hear your feedback on the finished results!

• Options
    I have switched the heater off now in the bed room that I had the GF beer stored for a week at around 18deg. I'll leave it in the room for a second week I think the temp will drop to about 14deg.Is that enough or should I put it in the garage to drop to 4-5 deg at night?

• Options
    Leaving the brew at around 14 degrees is fine, it will then condition and clear and develop it's proper flavours and carbonation. Just try and keep it away from light or in the dark and in a few weeks time they will be ready for drinking, nicely carbonated, clear and with a good flavour
  • Options
    Thank's I'll keep it in the bed room in the cardboard box.Can't wait to try it but will wait until Sunday when it will be bottled for two weeks.If all is well I'll get a few more on the go to be able to keep the beer stored longer over a period of time.
  • Options