Options

Brewing temp of 24 degrees

Mal1841Mal1841 Member Posts: 30
edited August 2012 in Beer Brewing
I brewed my first ever batch of woodfordes Wherry a few months back and its almost finished already!. The beer tastes fine except it has that weird but not unpleasant bublegum homebrew taste to it. Ive read in forums that this can be due to high primary fermenting temps and true it was the usual british summer last june until I started brewing then we got a heatwave for the week I was doing my primary fermentation!. The temp on the side of the barrel read 24 degrees and the Wherry box says to keep it between 18 and 22. Even on a coolish day thats pretty cold for a flat isnt it??. I dont really have a cold place to put the bucket so I'm wondering will all my future brews have this bubble gum aftertaste and is there anything i can do to keep the temp down?. All the best, Mal

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115

The taste may be down to the process, it is often hard to brew at the exact temperatures the manufacturers state so home brewers just have to do their best, a couple of degrees either way is usually fine, if warmer it may ferment faster, and cooler may slow fermentation times down. Usually brewing at an average room temperature of around 20 degrees is fine for most brews. Other causes could be for various reasons which are worth bearing in mind; store your beer away from direct sunlight or fluorescent tubes; high and fluctuating temperatures during fermentation; sediment mixing when dipensed, try and leave as much sediment behind in the fermenting vessel to minimise the sediment in the finished beer; yeast breakdown - this is caused by leaving the brew in the fermenting vessel on the dead layer of yeast for a long time after fermentation has completed, so try to transfer to the barrel as soon after fermentation has completed; flavours from the barrel - ensure the barrel is sterilised and well rinsed before each use.