Options

Problem Sealing Barrel

ChrisChris Member Posts: 5
edited June 2012 in Beer Brewing
Hi to all,

About a month ago I started brewing a batch of St. Peters Golden Ale. I transfered it into a barrel, and I've been biding my time, as is often recommended. I came to pour myself a glass yesterday evening and found there to be no pressure behind it, and very flat in the glass.

On investigating I found the seal on the inside of the barrel cap had moved when I was tightening the cap all those weeks ago. I've tried refitting the seal, turning and refitting it, etc. Whatever I do, as I tighten the cap, the seal will pop out of the groove and allow air into the barrel.

I don't think this is a problem with the cap or with the seal, but looking at the barrel opening I notice it is somewhat oval in shape so, on tightening the cap, the forces act on the inside of the seal in some places and on the outside in others. This is what I think is causing the seal to become unseated. Has anyone else noticed this type of problem? Any recommendations for alleviating it?

And for the brew itself: after around four weeks of air getting to this brew will it affect the flavour and longevity? Clearly the carbonation is already affected, is it likely to recover at all?

Kind regards,

Chris
Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115