Options

airlock.

hurmsonhurmson Member Posts: 3
edited April 2012 in General Home Brew Chat

hi im new to homebrew, i keep reading about airlocks but how do i fit one to my fermenting vessel it doesnt have anywhere to fit one or do i have to buy a certain type of vessel?

im on my 5th batch and managed without just keep taking a reading after about 7 days is it ok to keep removing the lid.

i like my bitter (only tried john bull) any recomended, my wife likes cider (youngs) would appreciate any recomenations or advice.

one last thing used sugar in secondary but gives a really sweet taste to bitter any advice.

thanks

Comments

• Options
    loadyloady Member Posts: 11

i wouldnt bother with the airlock unless your vessell is REALLY airtight..it is only a visual aid and you dont really need it, i have just started vrewing and have removed mine now, it didnt bubble once, i just covered the hole now.

Not sure about the sugar making your bitter sweet, as i said, i have only just started out myself and not yet on to that stage, i did read if you use to much it will give it a sweet taste but as far as i know it is for carbonation...you can use carbonation drops as i have seen suggested.

i have not tried the john bull range, i like the darker ales and went for woodfordes nog and woodfordes wherry

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115

loady's right, not all kits come with airlocks, the main thing is to make sure no contaminants get in, you can just crack the lid open slightly to let any build up of pressure out. That said, if you want to use an airlock, you could just drill a hole in the lid, fit a grommet, and then push the airlock into that, it can then bubble away to let any pressure out as it ferments. You can remove the lid during this first (primary) fermenting stage, as it does not have to be airtight, it is critical though once kegged or bottled that it then stays airtight.