Options

Beginners problems with pressure barrel

Rudii84Rudii84 Member Posts: 5
edited May 2016 in Welcome To The Forum
Hello
First of all I wanted to say hi to everyone as this is my first post.

I'm new to home brewing and looking for some help with the problems I'm experiencing. I got a kit (King Keg with the Sparkler Tap) as a Christmas present and I'm currently on my second brew. The first one was a failure, I didn't seal the keg properly and the beer was completely flat, and when I tried putting the co2 bulb all the gas went out from under the cap. After doing some reading online I've bought a new o-ring (square one, not round) and used vaseline on the thread and on my second brew (Father Hooks Ale) that seemed to help, but again it came out flat and didn't have any pressure when I tried to pour the beer. During the second fermentation I could hear a hissing sound coming from the valve on the cap, I thought that it's just excess pressure getting released, but after I took the valve apart I found that the band on it was a bit folded and that's probably where the pressure escaped through. Also, when I used the co2 bulb the gas escaped as well after some time (again, could hear hissing from the valve). So I got the band replacement set from your store, replaced the bands and washers, refitted the cap and now it seems that it's holding the pressure well, I've put a co2 buld on Monday an it still was pressured yesterday (Wednesday), can't hear any gas leaks so that looks good.