First Time Brew - Woodfordes Wherry

This is my first time brew and I started the primary fermentation last wednesday so I'm guessing she should be ready in the next few days. The beer hasn't been bubbling through the air lock but there looks like there is residue up the sides of the barrel and moisture on the inside of the lid so i'm hoping all is well. When would you suggest that i take my first hydrometer reading? The original gravity reading was 1.036 which I understand was a little low. Could this be due to not mixing the malt enough initially? 

Also any advice on transferring my beer into the pressure barrel would be much appreciated. 

Cheers,

Sam

Tagged:

Comments

• HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115

The Wherry is a great starting point and produces a very good beer, your gravity reading does sound low but it could be not quite accurate for various reasons, as long as you made it to the right quantity then the alcohol content will work out as intended by the manufacturers, there is not much to go wrong with this. A brew wont always bubble as how vigorous it ferments depends on a few factors such as temperature etc, but the froth and moisture are a good sign it is fermenting. The best way to tell how the progress is going, is as you say with your hydrometer, take a reading sometime soon and then compare again in 24 hour intervals. Once the reading is nice and low, and constant below 1014 for Wherry, without changing, then it is ready for moving over to your keg.