Options

Am I worried about nothing?

MarkkMarkk Member Posts: 4

Hi
I’m very new to home brewing and only have three previous brews under my belt. I splashed out on an old fridge and built myself a brew fridge so that I have spot on accuracy as far as temperatures were concerned. However, I am starting to find that there is quite a, substantial at times, difference between these brews. Eg my first brew was a Festival Razorback IPA kit. I followed the instructions implicitly and within a day and a bit I had froth coming out of the airlock making quite a mess. I cleared all this up, sanitised etc and that brew is now bottled and conditioning.

I then tried a simply mild kit. This was brewed as the book but with a brew enhancer instead of the sugar. This one didn’t overflow in the fermenter but did, after a day or so, show a steady flow of bubbles from the airlock until fermentation was complete. A subsequent batch of Mangrove jack Bourbon brew performed in a similar way. Now, my next batch, which was started on Saturday 23 March, is so different. This time I put in a Simply Pale Ale. I wanted to increase the hop aroma so added the 1kg sugar as per the recipe but also added 500g muntons light hopped dry spray malt. In addition, because of the additional fermentables, I replaced the kit yeast with 6g pack of Muntons premium gold ale yeast.

The reason for my post is that on this occasion I have seen absolutely no activity from the airlock at all. Something is clearly happening, or has happened as it’s in a bucket and the lid had ballooned. I’m not sure if there’s a leak in the lid somewhere but all seems to be secure. The original gravity was 1.054 so I decided to take reading today (Wednesday 27 March) and was surprised to find the reading now at 1.012! I really didn’t think anything had happened but it looks like my brew is well on the way. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115
    edited March 2019