Options

Another dumb newbie query...

swrightswright Member Posts: 3
Hi guys, another newbie here so please be gentle.
I've started off with a Woodfordes Wherry (standard), had it in the FV for 2 weeks (everything I've read that should happen did) and transferred to a pressure barrel on Friday afternoon (3 days ago). I made-up a priming solution of 100g sugar and poured that in before the brew. My concern is that I cannot see any head/foam forming inside the PB. The barrel is quite difficult to see through (especially as I'm expecting the foam to be white, and the barrel is white). Is it too early for the foam to have formed? I've stored the PB in my garage at the moment, a bit cooler than my dining room where I had the FV for 2 weeks. Any comments or recommendations would be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115
    edited May 2017
    Welcome, and feel free to ask any questions you need to! As you say with the barrels can be hard to see what is happening in there as they are not usually very transparent, as long as you have primed it with sugar though (and the 100 grams you used is fine) then it will then start to secondary ferment and carbonate. The time it takes to pressurise and clear can really vary, it can help to try to keep the brew warm (around 20 degrees C or so) for the first week, this helps the priming sugar to dissolve and secondary ferment, if it is cooler it will just take longer. As long as the lid is sealed fully down and has made an airtight seal it will then begin to pressurise the barrel.