Options

High starting SG

Hi

I'm a total newbie to brewing anything, making my first attempt at a 7 day Rose wine kit (23ltr)

I've put a bit too much sugar in it seems as my starting SG was 1.11

Rather than use the kit's yeast, I've opted for the high alcohol Gervin GV4 yeast in an attempt to save the wine, or the whole thing will have been a waste of time! I've also used a yeast nutrient. The bucket is sat at a steady 24-25 degreesC at the moment.

After a few hours my bubbler has started to bubble slightly once every few minutes.. Hoping I may have got away with it.

Can anyone share any knowledge/experience of this?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    BUDFORCEBUDFORCE Member Posts: 275
    How much sugar were you supposed to add, and how much do you think you put in?

I'm not a wine brewing expert at all, but with beer adding a bit too much sugar will not do too much harm it all depends how much more you added.

A little will just kick the alcohol content up a bit, may make the wine taste a bit stronger and wont be as the maker of the kit intended - however, it'll probably be ok.

If you added a lot more, it's possible the alcohol content will get too much for the yeast to handle, and some of the sugar will be left unfermented which will probably make the wine taste horrible, it would have to be quite a lot more though I am guessing.

Beer League: 1. Young's - American Pale Ale 2. Bulldog Brews - Imperial Red Bad Cat 3. Young's - IPA 4. Young's - American Amber Ale 5. Bulldog Brews - Evil Dog Double IPA
  • Options
    Chezzy1290Chezzy1290 Member Posts: 9
    Hi mate

Thanks for the reply!

A combination of carelessness and reading the hydrometer incorrectly I recall adding an extra 1.5kg of sugar than required to the fermentation bucket.

I've checked on the buckets progress today and it smells nice, or close to how a wine should smell. There is also a 'fizz' type thing going on with a constant stream of small bubbles coming to the surface.