No fermentation

Hi guys,
Im a newbie on the scene, and have recently brewed to batches that never fermented. The first just never bubbled, and after a week started to smell. The second started well, but I looked under the lid, and it stopped the fermentation I think. Any ideas why all this happened? Temp for both was around 22C. How do you add the yeast? I'm confused!
Andrew

Comments

• BUDFORCEBUDFORCE Member Posts: 275
    Which kit did you use and how long has it been fermenting?

Some of the kits will brew pretty quickly, as little as 4-6 days some of them.

Is there a layer of sediment at the bottom of the vessel? (assuming you can see through it)

Do you have a hydrometer?

Check all these things, if it seems as if it was fermenting, it now seems to have stopped, and there is a white layer on the bottom, its likely it's done. 22c is a good brewign temperature so provided you remembered to add the yeast no reason why that shouldn't brew.

You could try taking a reading with your hydrometer, and wait 24 hours and take the reading again, if its stable it's likely done.
    Beer League: 1. Young's - American Pale Ale 2. Bulldog Brews - Imperial Red Bad Cat 3. Young's - IPA 4. Young's - American Amber Ale 5. Bulldog Brews - Evil Dog Double IPA
  • HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115
    As budforce said using a hydrometer will tell you whether it has finished fermenting. Some ferments can be very slow and show little sign of life. If the lid is slightly bowed and when pushed down sends bubbles through the airlock that is a sign, also if there is a Cappuccino like froth on top of the brew this also an indication of fermentation.
  • Horlock07Horlock07 Member Posts: 7
    To bump this thread I have a similar problem.

Returned to brewing after c.20 years and bought one of the starter kits with Woodforde Sundew.