Options

Filtering sediment

AdznKiAdznKi Member Posts: 8
Hi Guys,

I am a total newbie to home brewing so please forgive my naive question, also this is my first post on here, so Hello everyone!!!

I completed my first home brew recently, which was a Muntons Gold Continental Pilsner. The kit was straight forward enough and I am extremely happy with the result. The beer looks fantastic and retains a good head all the way down the pint and tastes great too (I understand this isn't everyones cuppa)!!! The only thing that is bugging me is the amount of sediment/particles at the bottom of each bottle.

So my question, is it advisable to syphon the brew from the fermenting bucket to a bottling bucket but strain the brew from the syphon using a sterilised cotton filter stretched and secured across the top of the bottling bucket to separate all the sediment from the brew.

I have since bottled a second brew using a bottling bucket (with a little bottler) but without any form of filter, the sediment is greatly reduced but there is still some covering the bottom of each bottle. I am just concerned that by using a filter it will remove all of the goodness that is supposed to be in the brew for the second fermentation while in the bottles?

Thanks guys, your advice would be appreciated and sorry for waffling on so much!

Comments

• Options
    HBO_StaffHBO_Staff Administrator Posts: 2,115